Originally based on a comic strip Heathcliff had two seasons with 86 episodes each running a half hour. The first season of Heathcliff ran from 1980 to 1982 while the second ran from 1984 to 1987. The two seasons are sometimes known by different names.

The first season is sometimes known as Heathcliff and Dingbat, the second one and the most well known one being Heathcliff and the Catillac Cats. DiC Entertainment produced the second season of Heathcliff while Ruby-Spears Products took care of the first.

Heathcliff spends most of his time with his friends the Catillac Cats going on adventures around the town. Some say that the cartoon reminds them of Garfield but this is because of the fact that both cats are orange with black stripes.

Having two seasons both based off of the original comic strip proved well and the cartoon did quite well. Heathcliff: The Movie was also released and created by DiC Entertainment sometime in 1986 going with the popularity of the original two seasons.

Boomerang the American television channel has been known to play reruns of Heathcliff and many other great cartoons from that same time period.


One thought on “Heathcliff


Top 10 favorite! Almost as good as Garfield….almost.
Another show I watched all the time
I Feel sorry for the generations of today..who could not partake in the wonderful cartoons of the 80s.
I’d give anything to go back


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *